Our mission is to serve our EMC Members with excellence and integrity, to maintain open and frequent communications with those Members, and to be good stewards of their investment in energy assets by providing clean, safe, reliable and affordable electricity.

Before Oglethorpe Power

Beginning in the 1930s, rural communities in Georgia depended on local electric utilities for power. Initially, these utilities had no power resources of their own. In 1936, the Rural Electrification Administration was established, allowing these utilities to join together as Electric Membership Corporations (EMCs) to purchase power.

Joining Forces

In 1974, Georgia’s EMCs joined together to start a power supply company: Oglethorpe Electric Membership Corporation (OEMC), later known as Oglethorpe Power Corporation. For the first time in Georgia, generation facilities and transmission lines were part of the cooperative model, improving reliability and helping keep costs stable.

New Path Forward

As the energy industry changed, so did the structure of Oglethorpe Power. In 1997, Oglethorpe Power split into three companies: Oglethorpe Power for energy generation and asset management, Georgia Transmission for transmission infrastructure, and Georgia System Operations for monitoring and dispatch.

Today & Beyond

We continue to work hard to produce affordable, reliable power that Georgia’s EMCs distribute to millions of residents, businesses and other organizations across the state. Because we’re committed to producing power through a balanced and diverse portfolio of generating resources, our Member EMCs are well positioned for years to come.

Board of Directors

Our board includes EMC directors and managers as well as an independent director.

Front row
Wm. Ronald Duffey, Outside Director; Bobby C. Smith Jr., Chairman, Planters EMC; Jeffrey W. Murphy, Hart EMC; Marshall S. Millwood, Vice Chairman, Sawnee EMC; Fred A. McWhorter, Rayle EMC; George L. Weaver, Central Georgia EMC
Back row
Randy Crenshaw, Irwin EMC, Middle Georgia EMC; Danny Nichols, Colquitt EMC; Jimmy G. Bailey, Diverse Power; Sam Simonton, Walton EMC; James I. White, Snapping Shoals EMC; Ernest A. “Chip” Jakins III, Jackson EMC


Our management ensures we effectively maintain our generation assets and serve the EMCs with excellence.

Michael L. Smith

President & CEO

Mike W. Price

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Betsy B. Higgins

Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer

Billy F. Ussery

Executive Vice President, Member Relations

Annalisa M. Bloodworth

Senior Vice President & General Counsel

Heather H. Teilhet

Senior Vice President, External Affairs​

Jami G. Reusch

Vice President, Human Resources

Community Involvement

In addition to generating electricity, we support the communities where we have facilities. Our community relations efforts include Georgia-focused initiatives such as literacy and education programs, as well as being active in local chambers of commerce. We offer financial and volunteer support to local, statewide and national charitable organizations.