April 23, 2024

Oglethorpe Power Delivers $2.5 Million Tax Payment to Murray County

Chatsworth, GA (April 23, 2024) – Today, Oglethorpe Power presented its 2023 ad valorem tax payment of more than $2.5 million to the Murray County Tax Commissioner’s office, which will benefit the county’s school systems and local government. The payment is for Oglethorpe Power’s ownership of the Thomas A. Smith Energy Facility, a 1,295-megawatt natural gas-fired generation asset located in Murray County.

Oglethorpe Power is a wholesale electric power cooperative that is owned by and serves 38 consumer-owned, not-for-profit distribution cooperatives across Georgia, including Amicalola EMC, which provides electric service in Murray County and surrounding counties.

As an engaged corporate citizen in many counties throughout the state, Oglethorpe Power is dedicated to fostering strong community relationships and identifying areas of need that can enhance the quality of life for Georgia residents, with an emphasis on supporting underserved youth and enabling development through leadership and education programs. Last year in Murray County, Oglethorpe Power supported the REACH Georgia scholarship program, Chattanooga Area Food Bank, the Murray County School System Special Needs Program and the Murray County Boys & Girls Club.

About Oglethorpe Power

Oglethorpe Power is among the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives and is one of the largest energy producers in Georgia. With more than $16 billion in assets, Oglethorpe Power owns and operates a diverse portfolio of resources to provide reliable, affordable, safe and environmentally responsible energy to 38 consumer-owned, not-for-profit Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) that provide retail electricity to approximately 4.4 million Georgians. Through its investment in nuclear, natural gas, hydro and coal resources, Oglethorpe Power’s generation fleet has a combined capacity of more than 8,500 megawatts. For more information, visit www.opc.com.

About Amicalola EMC

Amicalola EMC is a not-for-profit electric cooperative providing electricity and related services to over 56,000 locations in portions of Bartow, Cherokee, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Gilmer, Gordon, Lumpkin, Murray and Pickens counties.



Contact: Blair Romero
Phone Number: 770-270-7290
Email: blair.romero@opc.com ­­­­