March 13, 2024

Oglethorpe Power Delivers $1.1 Million Tax Payment to Heard County

Franklin, GA (March 13, 2024) – Today, Oglethorpe Power, Carroll EMC, Coweta-Fayette EMC and Diverse Power presented Oglethorpe Power’s 2023 ad valorem tax payment of more than $1.1 million to the Heard County Tax Commissioner’s office, which will benefit the county’s school systems and local government. The payment is for Oglethorpe Power’s 100 percent ownership of the Hawk Road and Chattahoochee natural gas-fired generation assets and its 30 percent ownership of the retired Hal B. Wansley coal-fired plant, all located in Heard County.

Oglethorpe Power is a wholesale electric power cooperative that is owned by and serves 38 consumer-owned, not-for-profit distribution cooperatives across Georgia, including Carroll EMC, Coweta-Fayette EMC and Diverse Power, which provide electric service in Heard County and other area counties.

As an engaged corporate citizen in many counties throughout the state, Oglethorpe Power is dedicated to fostering strong community relationships and identifying areas of need that can enhance the quality of life for Georgia residents, with an emphasis on supporting underserved youth and enabling development through leadership and education programs. Last year in Heard County, Oglethorpe Power supported the REACH Georgia scholarship program, the Heard County Community Partnership, Impact West Georgia and a winter coat drive benefiting children in the Heard County school system.

About Oglethorpe Power

Oglethorpe Power is among the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives and is one of the largest energy producers in Georgia. With more than $16 billion in assets, Oglethorpe Power owns and operates a diverse portfolio of resources to provide reliable, affordable, safe and environmentally responsible energy to 38 consumer-owned, not-for-profit Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) that provide retail electricity to approximately 4.4 million Georgians. Through its investment in nuclear, natural gas, hydro and coal resources, Oglethorpe Power’s generation fleet has a combined capacity of more than 8,500 megawatts. For more information, visit www.opc.com.

About Carroll EMC

Carroll EMC is a Member-owned cooperative providing electricity to approximately 54,000 homes and businesses. The co-op serves Members in Carroll, Haralson, Heard, Paulding, Polk, Floyd and Troup counties. This institution is an equal opportunity provider and employer. For more information visit the cooperative’s website at carrollemc.com or follow Carroll EMC on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, X and YouTube. Carroll EMC: Community Built. Community Builder.

About Coweta-Fayette EMC

Coweta Fayette EMC is a member-owned cooperative providing electricity and related services to over 80,000 consumers in Coweta, Fayette, Heard, Fulton, Clayton, Meriwether, Spalding, and Troup counties.

About Diverse Power

Diverse Power Incorporated is a member-owned electric cooperative that provides reliable electric energy-related services to the following Georgia counties – Troup, Harris, Heard, Meriwether, Muscogee, Coweta, Quitman, Randolph, Clay, Calhoun and parts of Dougherty, Early, Stewart, Terrell, as well as Chambers County, Alabama.


Contact: Blair Romero
Phone Number: 770-270-7290
Email: blair.romero@opc.com ­­­­