October 5, 2022

Oglethorpe Power Donates Land For New Monroe County Fire Station

Tucker, GA (Oct. 5, 2022) – Today Oglethorpe Power announced the donation of four acres of land to the Monroe County Board of Commissioners for the construction of a new fire station. The land is located off Rumble Road, adjacent to Smarr Energy Facility, a natural gas-fired power plant operated by Oglethorpe Power. With close proximity to Interstate 75, the donated land provides an ideal location for the Monroe County Fire Department to quickly and efficiently respond to fire-related emergencies.

“As active corporate citizens invested in the success of the counties where we operate, Oglethorpe Power and our member cooperatives are pleased to donate this land to Monroe County for such a meaningful purpose,” said Oglethorpe Power President and Chief Executive Officer Michael L. Smith. “We value our community relationships and are proud to partner with the Monroe County Commission to meet this community need.”

The new fire station will feature a state-of-the-art facility, equipped with rescue and fire trucks and personnel onsite 24 hours a day. Once constructed, the facility will expand fire prevention and protection coverage for residents of Monroe County.

“Oglethorpe Power’s land donation will allow us to build a new fire station to deliver critical, potentially life-saving, services to the community, while providing a significant cost-savings to Monroe County,” said Monroe County Commissioner John Ambrose. “I am thrilled that the location of this new fire station will help expand our reach of fire services in the community.” Ambrose expects the county to break ground on the land later this year, with the new fire station projected to be operational next year.

Oglethorpe Power serves 38 consumer-owned not-for-profit distribution cooperatives across Georgia, including Central Georgia EMC, Southern Rivers Energy and Flint Energies, which provide electric service in Monroe County and other area counties. In addition to operating the Smarr Energy Facility, Oglethorpe Power is a co-owner of Plant Scherer Units 1 and 2, also located in Monroe County.

About Oglethorpe Power

Oglethorpe Power is one of the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives with more than $16 billion in assets serving 38 Electric Membership Corporations which, collectively, provide electricity to approximately 4.4 million Georgia residents. A proponent of conscientious energy development and use, Oglethorpe Power balances reliable and affordable energy with environmental responsibility and has an outstanding record of regulatory compliance. Its diverse energy portfolio includes natural gas, nuclear, hydroelectric and coal generating plants with a combined capacity of more than 8,300 megawatts. Oglethorpe Power was established in 1974 and is owned by its 38 Member Systems. Its headquarters are in Tucker, Georgia, an Atlanta suburb. For more information, visit www.opc.com.


Contact:  Blair Romero
Phone Number:  770-270-7290
Email:  blair.romero@opc.com ­­­­