February 18, 2020

Oglethorpe Power Delivers Large Tax Payment to Floyd County

Contact:  Terri Statham
Phone Number:  770-270-6990
Email:  terri.statham@opc.com­­­­

(TUCKER, GA, Feb. 18, 2020)  – Oglethorpe Power Corp. recently presented a check to the Floyd County Tax Commissioner’s Office, bringing Oglethorpe’s total 2019 ad valorem tax payment in Floyd County to $3,227,718.78 for the organization’s 75 percent ownership in the Rocky Mountain Pumped-storage Hydroelectric Plant.

Oglethorpe Power is a wholesale electric power cooperative owned by and serving 38 electric membership corporations in Georgia, including Carroll EMC which provides electric service to commercial accounts in Floyd County.

Around the state, Oglethorpe Power will pay more than $43 million in 2019 property taxes for power-generating facilities that it owns or co-owns on behalf of its Member EMCs.

About Oglethorpe Power

Oglethorpe Power is one of the nation’s largest power supply cooperatives with more than $12 billion in assets serving 38 Electric Membership Corporations which, collectively, provide electricity to approximately 4.1 million Georgia residents. A proponent of conscientious energy development and use, Oglethorpe Power balances reliable and affordable energy with environmental responsibility and has an outstanding record of regulatory compliance. Its diverse energy portfolio includes natural gas, hydroelectric, coal and nuclear-generating plants with a combined capacity of approximately 7,800 megawatts. Oglethorpe Power was established in 1974 and is owned by its 38 Member Systems. Its headquarters are in Tucker, Georgia, an Atlanta suburb.